Home » Poetry » Goodbye

Goodbye

You said you’d love me forever,
But now you’ve left and gone,
And still I sit and wonder,
Where it all went wrong.

God will never leave me,
His love is perfect and true,
He is mighty in my weakness,
And He makes my life brand new.

Letting go is hard,
but when the sadness clears,
there will be no reason,
to shed another tear.

God is my solid rock,
my Comfort in this storm,
He catches all my tears,
and mends a heart that’s torn.

I know it won’t be easy,
and I’ll miss you every second,
but everything in life,
comes with a special lesson.

God will direct my path,
and He will restore my heart,
His goodness fills my life with hope,
and He gives me the strength to restart.

When I love, I deeply love.
When I commit, I truly commit.
I work hard in everything I do,
and I gave my best to you.

If you cared so deeply, as you said you did,
I’ll never understand how,
you left the way you left,
and how you are where you are now.

I wish you could see the way you left me,
I wish you knew what you did to my soul,
when you walked away that day,
and left an insurmountable hole.

You ripped from me all my joy,
You slaughtered my trust and love,
You crushed my faith in humanity,
But my eyes were directed to Him above.

You took from me everything I knew,
The feeling of worthlessness is indescribable,
The pain burned for months,
But God helped me grieve and soothed my soul.

God is welcomed into my wounds,
He’s the only one I trust,
He fills all the empty spaces,
And mends my heart’s deep bruise.

God alone is love,
He’s the only love I believe in,
but I have faith He’ll help me along,
when it’s time to believe again.

I still have a lot of questions,
and I’ll always wonder why,
but now all I can do is say,
I love you and goodbye.

Goodbye.

February 5, 2008 – September 11, 2010

Leave a comment